I MINA 'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE AUTHORS REPORT FILED	NOTES
275-37 (COR)		Relative to recognizing Craig Santos Perez for his illustrious career as an indigenous writer and scholar from Guam; and to congratulating him on winning the prestigious National Book Award for Poetry for his book from unincorporated territory [åmot].		TBA						

I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2023 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No.275-37 (COR)

Introduced by:

Chris Barnett Christopher M. Dueña Frank F. Blas, Jr. Telo T. Taitague Jesse A. Lujane Joe S. San Agusti Therese M. Terlaje Dwayne T.D. San Nicola William A. Parkinson Roy A.B. Quinata Sabina F. Perez sep Tina Rose Muña Barnes

Relative to recognizing Craig Santos Perez for his illustrious career as an indigenous writer and scholar from Guam; and to congratulating him on winning the prestigious National Book Award for Poetry for his book *from unincorporated territory [åmot]*

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I
2	MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez is a native CHamoru poet, scholar, editor,
4	publisher, essayist, critic, book reviewer, artist, environmentalist, and political activist,
5	originally from the village of Mongmong; and
6	WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez received his Bachelor of Arts Degree from the
7	University of Redlands, a Master of Fine Arts in Writing Degree from the University of

1 San Francisco, and a Master of Arts and Doctorate of Philosophy in Comparative Ethnic 2 Studies from The University of California, Berkeley; and

3

WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez is an Associate Professor in the English Department at the University of Hawai'i, Manoa, where he teaches Pacific Literature 4 5 and Creative Writing; an affiliate faculty member with the Center of Pacific Island 6 Studies and the Indigenous Politics Program; the Chair of the Hawaiian, Asian, and 7 Pacific Islander Board in the Office of General Education; and was a faculty member 8 of the Voices of Our Nations Arts Foundation (VONA), Kundiman Writers Retreat, and 9 Mokule'ia Retreat; and

WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez is the author of five (5) books of poetry: from 10 unincorporated territory [hacha]; from unincorporated territory [saina]; from 11 unincorporated territory [guma']; from unincorporated territory [lukao]; and Habitat 12 13 *Threshold*; and

14 WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez is the co-founder of Ala Press; an editor of two 15 anthologies of Pacific Literature; has published two (2) spoken-word poetry albums; 16 and has had his work featured in various media such as the Colorado Review, New American Media, CNBC, BBC Cultural Frontline, Slate, The Guardian, the Pacific 17 18 Daily News and the Guam Daily Post; and

WHEREAS, Craig Santos Perez was awarded the National Book Award for 19 Poetry in November of 2023 by the National Book Foundation for his collection of 20 21 poems, from unincorporated territory [åmot]; and

22 WHEREAS, the National Book Foundation was founded to administer the 23 National Book Awards, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the country with a 24 mission to celebrate the best literature published in the United States, expand its 25 audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in our culture; and

26 WHEREAS, in March of 1950, publishers, editors, writers and critics gathered 27 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City to celebrate the first annual National Book Awards which would go on to acknowledge the works of writers such as Ralph
 Ellison, Bernard Malamud, Toni Morrison, Flannery O'Connor, Thomas Pynchon,
 Alice Walker, Ta-Nehisi Coates, William Faulkner and many more renowned writers
 that have helped shape the foundation and evolution of American Literature; and

5 WHEREAS, the foundation assembles twenty-five (25) distinguished writers, 6 critics, librarians, and booksellers to judge the National Book Awards, where they read 7 between one-hundred-fifty (150) to upwards of five hundred (500) titles, to present 8 awards in the categories of Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, Translated Literature and 9 Young People's Literature; and

WHEREAS, *from unincorporated territory [åmot]*, was "created to help heal traumatic wounds linked to colonialism, militarism and environmental injustice in Guahan" and is a powerfully moving and deeply personal expression of what it means to be indigenous and find healing through expression and the stories we tell amongst one another and the stories we share with the world; now therefore, be it

15 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'trentai Siette Na* 16 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize Craig 17 Santos Perez for his illustrious career as an indigenous writer and scholar from Guam; 18 and congratulate him on winning the prestigious National Book Award for Poetry for 19 his book *from unincorporated territory [åmot]*; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules
certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of
the same be thereafter transmitted to Craig Santos Perez; and to the Honorable Lourdes
A. Leon Guerrero, *I Maga'hågan Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE DAY OF MONTH YEAR.

THERESE M. TERLAJE Speaker

CHRIS BARNETT Chairperson, Committee on Rules

AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary